HIV RNA PCR Test, Early HIV Detection, TAT: 4-16 hrs | Urban Medical HK

HIV RNA PCR Test (Ultrasensitive) - Early HIV Detection

Test ItemUltrasensitive HIV RNA PCR (Quantitative)
CostHKD$1,380
Product CodeUS HIV RNA
SynopsisFor early detection of HIV RNA infection after exposure.
Synopsis7 days
Limit of Detection (LoD)20 copies/mL
Turnaround time4-16 hours
Sensitivity93.3%
Specificity100%

HIV RNA PCR detection method

The HIV RNA test uses reverse transcription PCR (RT-PCR) to detect the nucleic acid or genetic information of the HIV virus in the blood. HIV RNA test is also known as HIV nucleic acid amplification test (HIV NAAT) or HIV virus load (Viral Load) test. The HIV RNA test is the most sensitive of the three HIV tests and can detect the presence and quantity of HIV virus in the blood.

Main uses of HIV RNA

  • Uses for HIV diagnosis
  • The purpose of monitoring the viral load of HIV infection
  • Early HIV infection test

Window Period of HIV RNA Test

Our HIV RNA detection system is an enclosed, fully automatic system and result is available within a few hours. The earliest detection of HIV RNA is about 7 days post exposure. Research suggested that an HIV RNA test with a sensitively of 50 copies/ml would detect HIV infection approximately 7 days before a p24 antigen/antibody test (window period of 14 days). There is currently no research evidence to support the use of HIV RNA test less than 7 days post exposure.

(REF: Stekler J, et. Al., Screening for acute HIV infection: lessons learned. Clinical Infectious Diseases. 2007).
(REF: Fiebig EW, et. Al. Dynamics of HIV viremia and antibody seroconversion in plasma donors: implications for diagnosis and staging of primary HIV infection. AIDS . 2003. 17:1871–1879.)

The HIV RNA Test is not recommended for diagnostic purposes. Some laboratories that perform pooled sample for HIV RNA test with the dilution of samples may result in false-negative test with early HIV infection. Therefore, the result of the 4th generation HIV (p24 combo) test should be used to determine infection status, especially cases with low HIV RNA level.

(REF: Busch MP, et al. Relative sensitivities of licensed nucleic acid amplification tests for detection of viremia in early human immunodeficiency virus and hepatitis C virus infection. Transfusion 2005; 45:1853–63.)

Cost of HIV RNA PCR Test

Cost: $1,380

The HIV RNA test is expensive but it has a shortest window period and allows detection of very early HIV infection. You may consider having an HIV RNA test if you had a high-risk exposure, or showing early symptoms of HIV infection after a possible exposure. An HIV RNA test should not be used to test for HIV infection if you are currently using or recently used post-exposure prophylaxis (PEP), as the medication is known to suppress viral replication which could lead to a false-negative result.

How to choose an HIV RNA test?

There are not many medical institutions in Hong Kong that can provide same-day HIV RNA testing. Basically, they all use the same brand and model of reagents. The only difference is the price and whether there are additional hidden costs.

HIV RNA Test - Qualitative/Quantitative

The HIV RNA test, the HIV nucleic acid test, is mainly divided into qualitative and quantitative tests. The qualitative test only detects the presence or absence of HIV in the blood, while the quantitative test can detect the presence of the HIV viral load in the blood. Basically, quantitative test already includes qualitative and quantitative functions, so quantitative test is better than qualitative test.

We only conduct quantitative tests, but will directly provide quantitative tests at the price of qualitative tests of other companies, and will not charge any surcharge for same-day express reports. The same brand of reagents and the same tests are used to compare other companies (reference price $2300- $2700), we only charge $1380 for testing (no other hidden charges), the purpose is to provide the best testing service to customers at the most reasonable price.

Accuracy of HIV RNA Tests

The accuracy of the HIV RNA test mainly depends on whether the window period is sufficient. According to research, the HIV virus enters the blood about 6.5 to 7 days after infection. HIV is accurately detected in blood, not to mention the so-called "5-day window period ultra-sensitive HIV RNA detection accuracy rate is higher than 95%". Therefore, we follow the recommendations of major foreign medical institutions that HIV RNA testing should only be performed on or after 7 days of suspected infection to avoid false negatives. In addition, it is also recommended that customers should refer to and compare the Limit of Detection (LoD) announced by their test before selecting a service provider. Limit of Detection (LoD) simply means that the test can correctly detect the lowest virus amount in the tested sample. The lower the LoD, the more accurate the reagent can detect whether there is any infection.

We use testing reagents imported from Europe, with LoD of 20 copies/ml (qualitative) and 40 copies/ml (quantitative), and ensure that each sample is independently tested (non-mixed tubes). The reporting time takes 4-8 hours. If you want to report on the same day, please try to arrange the morning session for sampling and testing. Due to the time required for the test, the daily test volume is limited, please make an appointment in advance to obtain the test report on the same day.

CONTACT US

LOCATION

Contact Methods



OPENING HOURS

HIV RNA 檢測︱超早期愛滋病毒檢查︱Urban Medical 德立醫療

愛滋病毒HIV RNA PCR檢測︱超高敏早期愛滋病檢測

HIV RNA (核糖核酸)測試使用逆轉錄PCR(RT-PCR)方法檢測血液中HIV病毒的核酸或遺傳訊息。HIV RNA 測試又名 HIV核酸增幅試驗(HIV NAAT) 或HIV 病毒量(Viral Load) 測試。HIV RNA 測試是三款HIV測試中靈敏度最高的,能夠檢測血液中HIV 病毒的存在及其數量。

HIV RNA定量檢測的主要用途

  • HIV確診用途
  • HIV病毒載量監察用途
  • 早期HIV感染測試用途
檢測項目HIV RNA PCR定量檢測
費用HKD$1,380
空窗期7日
最低檢出率(LoD)18.3病毒量/mL (數值越低,分析靈敏度越高,正確檢出陽性的能力更高)
化驗結果4-16小時
靈敏度93.3%
特異度100%

愛滋病HIV RNA的空窗期?

我們採用全自動封閉式檢測系統,能於幾小時內完成整個HIV RNA檢測。血液中的HIV RNA最早能於感染後7日檢出。研究顯示靈敏度達50 copies/ml的HIV測試方法比用HIV抗原抗體檢測方法,能早七日檢出有否HIV感染。現時沒有足夠研究數據顯示及支持HIV RNA測試能有效及準確地檢出少於七日(5-6日)的早期感染

(REF: Stekler J, et. Al., Screening for acute HIV infection: lessons learned. Clinical Infectious Diseases. 2007).
(REF: Fiebig EW, et. Al. Dynamics of HIV viremia and antibody seroconversion in plasma donors: implications for diagnosis and staging of primary HIV infection. AIDS . 2003. 17:1871–1879.)

HIV RNA測試並不建議單獨用作診斷感染用途。任何對HIV感染的診斷需要利用HIV p24抗原抗體檢測並配合HIV RNA測試作結論,尤其針對HIV病毒含量偏低的測試結果。

(REF: Busch MP, et al. Relative sensitivities of licensed nucleic acid amplification tests for detection of viremia in early human immunodeficiency virus and hepatitis C virus infection. Transfusion 2005; 45:1853–63.)

愛滋病HIV RNA檢測費用

價錢:$1,380

HIV RNA測試雖然是比較昂貴,但空窗期是最短的,能有效檢查出早期HIV感染。如果你曾有高危接觸行為,或者於疑似接觸病毒後出現相關病徵,建議可接受HIV RNA測試。如果你正在或剛完成PEP療程(例如完成後1周內),你不應接受HIV RNA測試進行病毒檢查。 無論感染與否,因為PEP藥物於療程中壓制病毒複製及降低血液病毒RNA的含量(如有),故此進行HIV RNA測試有機會出現假陰性結果並延誤治療。

怎樣挑選HIV RNA 測試?

香港能提供即日HIV RNA 檢測的醫療機構選擇不多,基本上都是採用同一種品牌同一型號的試劑,分別只在於其定價高低及有否外加附加隱藏費用等。

HIV RNA測試 - 定性/定量

HIV RNA測試即愛滋病病毒核酸測試主要分為定性或定量,分別在於定性測試只會檢查到血液中有或者沒有HIV病毒存在,而定量測試除了能檢查血液中有否病毒存在,亦可檢測血液中的HIV病毒量(如有)。基本上定量測試已經包含定性及定量的功能,所以定量測試比定性測試為佳。

我們只進行定量測試,但會以其他公司定性檢測的價錢直接提供定量測試,亦不會收取任何即日特快報告附加費,以相同品牌的試劑、進行相同的測試,對比其他公司(參考價$2300-$2700),我們只收取$1380檢測費用(沒有其他隱藏收費),目的旨在能以最合理的價錢提供最佳的檢測服務給客人。

HIV RNA測試的準確度

HIV RNA測試的準確度高低主要取決於空窗期是否足夠,根據研究指出, HIV病毒會於感染後6.5至7日左右進入血液,並沒有足夠證據指出於感染後第五日或第六日能在血液準確檢測出愛滋病病毒,亦遑論所謂的「5日空窗期超高敏HIV RNA檢測准確率高於95%」。因此我們跟隨各大外國醫學機構的建議, HIV RNA檢測只應在疑似感染的七天或之後進行,以免出現假陰性。另外亦建議客人挑選服務供應商前應參考及對比其測試公佈的最低檢出量。簡單而言,最低檢出量指測試能正確檢測出該受檢樣本中最低的病毒量數值,最低檢出量越低,該試劑能驗出有否感染的準確度相對更高。

我們是採用由歐洲進口的檢測試劑,其最低檢出量為20 copies/ml (定性)及40copies/ml (定量),並保證對每一個樣本進行獨立檢測(非混管),核酸測試化驗連同報告時間需時4-8小時。如需即日報告,請盡量安排上午時間到來採樣檢測。因化驗需時,每日化驗量有限,敬請提早預約,以便即日獲得檢測報告。

聯絡我們

地點

聯絡方式



營業時間