Pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) in HK︱Urban Medical

What is PrEP?

Pre-exposure prophylaxis, PrEP, is an HIV prevention strategy for HIV-negative individuals to take anti-retroviral medication to prevent HIV infection from exposure to the virus by suppressing HIV viral replication.

There are currently two medications approved by the US FDA for use as PrEP: Truvada® (emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate; EM-TDF) and Descovy® (emtricitabine and tenofovir alafenamide; EM-TAF). Generic versions are also available but are not FDA-approved for PrEP purposes.

New EM-TAF vs old EM-TDF

Clinical trials suggested that the new EM-TAF is not inferior to the old EM-TDF in terms of their efficacy in preventing HIV infection (0.16 vs 0.34 infections/100 people/year for EM-TAF and EM-TDF, respectively), and EM-TAF is associated with a lower incidence of adverse events (1%) when compared to the old EM-TDF (2%). The new EM-TAF is also reported to be safer than EM-TDF as it is associated with lower risk of renal toxicity and reduced bone mineral density loss.1-2

PrEP Cost

Truvada® : $6,950/Bottle

Descovy® : $7,550/Bottle

Medicine above can only be purchased after doctor consultation.

Check-ups before taking PrEP

To order PrEP medicines in Hong Kong or online, a doctor's prescription or documentation of recent HIV, hepatitis B, kidney and liver function test results is required. While taking PrEP, HIV testing is also recommended every 3 months, kidney and other STD tests are recommended every 6 months during PrEP.

PrEP Test Fee - Basic

$650, including the following tests and related report documents.

  • HIV p24 antigen and antibody test
  • Hepatitis B Surface Antigen Test
  • Liver function test
  • Kidney function test

Reporting time : 1-2 days (working days)

Effectiveness of PrEP

According to CDC, If taken correctly as prescribed (oral daily dose), PrEP can lower the risk of HIV transmission by 99% from sexual activities, and by 74% among intravenous drug users . The risk of contracting HIV can be further reduced if other prevention methods (such as using condom) are used in conjunction with PrEP.3

How to take PrEP

There are currently two options to take PrEP:

Daily oral regimen of taking one pill per day
which provides the highest level of protection when taken as prescribed. The daily use regimen is the only FDA-approved schedule for using PrEP.
“On demand”
regiment also known as “event-driven” or “non-daily use”, which is taken according to the “2-1-1” schedule – two pills taken 2-24 hours before sex, followed by one pill 24 hours after the first dose, and one pill 24 hours after the second dose. The “2-1-1” schedule has been scientifically proven to provide sufficient protection for MSM when having unprotected anal sex. However, the effectiveness of the “on-demand” PrEP regimen is currently unavailable for intravenous drug users, transgender, heterosexual men and women. This “on-demand” schedule use of PrEP is NOT FDA-approved and is NOT included in the CDC guideline.

Time to PrEP effective

PrEP provides maximum protection after 7 days of daily dose for receptive anal sex, and after 21 days of daily dose for receptive vaginal sex. The effectiveness of PrEP for insertive vaginal and anal sex is currently unavailable.

Who should take PrEP?

1. Individuals who engaged in anal or vaginal sex in the past 6 months with

  • a sexual partner with known HIV infection (especially if the partner has unknown or detectable viral load), or
  • inconsistent use of condom, or
  • a positive STD diagnosis made in the past 6 months

2. Individuals who inject drugs and

  • your injection partner is HIV-positive (especially if the partner has unknown or detectable viral load), or
  • share needles and/or syringes with others

3. Individuals that have been prescribed PEP (post-exposure prophylaxis) before

  • multiple times previously, or
  • continue to engage in high-risk exposure behaviours

4. Woman with a partner with HIV who

  • Considering of getting pregnant. PrEP medication is safe for pregnancy and could protect the woman and infant from HIV infection during pregnancy and breastfeeding.

It is important for individuals to consult doctor before initializing PrEP treatment, especially for the important information regarding of the starting / stopping of PrEP and necessary test schedule along the period.

Risk and Side effects of PrEP4

1. Risk of long term use or medication toxicity

Study suggested that daily use of PrEP can result in serious side effects, including abnormal liver function, kidney damage, pancreatitis and bone thinning. Therefore, regular monitoring of liver function, kidney function and bone mineral density are recommended for all PrEP users.

2. Side effect of drug

Regular monitoring during the use of PrEP is recommended to prevent long-term medication toxicity from long-term use. The majority of side effects reported are related to the gastrointestinal tract which range from mild to moderate, including nausea, vomiting and diarrhoea.

3. Risk of STI infection

The rate of condom use among PrEP users is low due to the fact that the fear of contracting HIV is greatly reduced by PrEP, which results in high STI infection rate. One study reported the incidence of STI increased from 69.5/100 person/year prior to enrolment to 98.4/100 person/year during follow-up. Recent findings reported the incidence of rectal chlamydia and syphilis increased by 29% and 164% respectively among PrEP user. Education on taking PrEP as prescribed and the correct and persistent use of condom during sex are vital in preventing the transmission of HIV and STIs. 5

Recommended tests before and after PrEP

According to the WHO, testing for HIV infection status is required before initiating PrEP. HIV testing is suggested every three months and before restarting of PrEP.

Regular monitoring of liver function, renal function, hepatitis B infection/immunization status and STI infection, including syphilis, gonorrhea and chlamydia, before and after starting of PrEP are also recommended.

Basic PrEP Screening Package | $650
  • HIV p24 antigen and antibody test
  • Hepatitis B Surface Antigen Test
  • Liver function test
  • Kidney function test
Comprehensive PrEP Screening Package | $2,500
  • Liver function
    SGPT(ALT) 
    SGOT(AST) 
    Alkaline Phosphatase 
    Bilirubin Total
    Protein Total
    Albumin 
    Globulin 
    A/G Ratio 
    Gamma GT
  • Kidney function
    Urea  
    Creatinine(with eGFR)
    Potassium, Sodium 
    Chloride
  • HIV combo
  • TP Ab (syphilis)
  • RPR (syphilis)
  • Hepatitis B surface antigen
  • Hepatitis B surface antibody
  • Hepatitis C antibody
  • Chlamydia DNA
  • Gonorrhoea DNA

 

(Ref1: Kenneth H Mayer, Lancet 2020; 396: 239–54 )
(REF2: Fong, T. L., Lee, B. T., Tien, A., Chang, M., Lim, C., Ahn, A., & Bae, H. S. (2019). Improvement of bone mineral density and markers of proximal renal tubular function in chronic hepatitis B patients switched from tenofovir disoproxil fumarate to tenofovir alafenamide. Journal of viral hepatitis, 26(5), 561-567.)
(REF3: Massud, I., Ruone, S., Zlotorzynska, M., Haaland, R., Mills, P., Cong, M. E., ... & García-Lerma, J. G. (2020). Single oral dose for HIV pre or post-exposure prophylaxis: user desirability and biological efficacy in macaques. EBioMedicine, 58, 102894.)
(Ref4: MichaelW. Traeger et. Al. (2019) Association of HIV Preexposure Prophylaxis With Incidence of Sexually Transmitted Infections Among Individuals at High Risk of HIV Infection. JAMA April 9, 2019 Volume 321, Number 14. )
(Ref5: Raymond A. Tetteh et al (2017) Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis for HIV Prevention: Safety Concerns Drug Saf (2017) 40:273–283)

CONTACT US

LOCATION

Contact Methods



OPENING HOURS

愛滋病事前預防性投藥香港(PrEP)︱Urban Medical 德立醫療

愛滋病事前預防性投藥香港(PrEP)

愛滋病事前預防性投藥,亦稱暴露前預防性投藥, PrEP, 是透過對HIV陰性人群提供抗病毒藥物,於一旦接觸HIV病毒後可有效壓止病毒複製,達致預防HIV感染的效果。

現時有兩款PrEP藥物是美國藥監局FDA認可的, Truvada® (emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate; EM-TDF, 上一代藥物) 及 Descovy® (emtricitabine and tenofovir alafenamide; EM-TAF, 新型藥物),市面上亦有多種並不受FDA認可,但可用作PrEP的仿製藥物.

新型TAF vs 上一代TDF 藥物

臨床數據指出新型TAF藥物與上一代TDF藥物對預防HIV感染的有效性沒有差別。(TAF: 0.16 感染/每百人每年,TDF: 0.32感染/每百人每年),另外服用TAF藥物(1%)所引致的嚴重副作用率比上一代TDF藥物(2%)為低。 新型TAF藥物亦對腎臟及骨質流失的影響較低。1-2

PrEP藥物費用

Truvada® : $6,950/樽 (30粒)

Descovy® : $7,550/樽 (30粒)

以上PrEP藥物需由醫生處方才能購買。

PrEP服用前檢查

在香港或網上訂購PrEP藥物,需要提供醫生處方或最近的HIV、乙型肝炎、腎功能及肝功能測試結果的文件。在服用PrEP藥物途中,亦建議每3個月進行1次HIV檢測,腎臟及其他性病檢查則建議在PrEP期間每6個月檢查一次。

PrEP檢查費用-基本

PrEP檢查費用:$650,包括以下檢測, 並可取得相關報告文件。

  • HIV病毒p24抗原和抗體測試
  • 乙型肝炎表面抗原測試
  • 肝功能指標
  • 腎功能指標

報告時間1-2日(工作天)

愛滋病事前預防性投藥(PrEP)的有效性

每日服用PrEP藥物是預防HIV感染的最有效的方法。根據CDC報告指出,每日服用PrEP藥物能有效減低HIV感染達99% (性行為)及74% (藥物注射), 同時使用其他預防HIV感染的方法,包括正確使用安全套能有效提高對HIV感染的預防率。3

怎樣服用愛滋病事前預防性投藥(PrEP)?

正確服用PrEP的方法有:

每日服食一粒藥物(Daily)
正確按時服用能提供最有效的保護能力,每日服用是唯一獲FDA認可的使用方法。
有需要時服用(On Demand)
按照”2-1-1”服藥方法,即於發生性行為前24小時服用兩粒藥物,並於性行為後24小時及48小時各服一粒藥物。”2-1-1”服用方法於男男性接觸群體中被證實是有效的。有需要時服用的方法於其他群組, 包括: 藥物使用者、跨性別人士、異性性接觸者中的有效數字未明,而且這服用方法並不受FDA 認可或為CDC所指引。

愛滋病事前預防性藥物的起用時間

PrEP會於服藥後7日(接受式肛交)或21日後(接受式陰道交)達致最高保護效果,而對插入式陰道交或插入式肛交的保護效果未明。

誰人適用事前預防性藥物PrEP?

PrEP 適用人群包括:

1. 於過去六個月內曾進行肛交或陰道交的人士並:

  • 與HIV陽性或感染狀況未知的性伴
  • 沒有持續使用安全套
  • 曾患性傳染疾病

2. 有注射藥物習慣的人士並:

  • 與HIV陽性或感染狀況未知的人同時注射
  • 曾共用針筒、針頭或注射儀器

3. 曾接受PEP療程的人士並:

  • 經常進行高危性行為
  • 已接受多次PEP療程

4. HIV 患者的女伴

  • 準備懷孕的婦女,PrEP藥物對懷孕是安全的,可有效保護孕婦及嬰兒免受HIV感染(包括母乳餵哺)。

開始PrEP療程前必須向醫生咨詢,尤其要清楚明白對開始服用時、停用及使用中途需注意的地方及所需要的檢查。

事前預防性藥物的風險及副作用4

1. 長期服用所引致的藥物毒性

研究指出長期每日服用藥物可引致嚴重副作用,包括肝功能衰退、腎臟衰竭、胰臟炎或骨質變薄等

2. 事前預防性藥物藥物的副作用

建議服用者定時進行有關的身體檢查以防止身體出現長期藥物毒性破壞

常見副作用與腸胃系統有關,包括輕度之中度噁心、嘔吐及肚瀉。另外亦建議於服藥期間定期檢查肝功能及腎功能、骨質密度等。

3. 感染性傳染病的風險

PrEP使用人群有着較高感染性傳染病的風險,可能與對HIV感染風險減低而選擇不使用安全套的行為及意識有關。 研究指出PrEP使用人群中STI感染率由之前的69.5人/年次急升至98.4人/年次。另外近期研究顯示PrEP使用人群中的直腸衣原體及梅毒感染分別上升29%及164%。建議按指示正確使用PrEP藥物, 同時配合持續使用安全套能有效預防性傳染病傳播。5

PrEP開始前及期間的測試

世界衛生組織指引明確指出HIV病毒測試必須於開始服用PrEP藥物前進行,而HIV病毒測試應於服用期間每三個月進行一次,或於重新服用前再次進行。

肝酵素水平、血液肌酸酐水平(腎功能指標)、乙型肝炎感染狀況及其他性傳染病,包括梅毒、淋病、衣原體等等,亦應於開始服用前及服用期間進行監測。

PrEP相關檢查組合

PrEP基本檢查︱$650
  • HIV病毒p24抗原和抗體測試
  • 乙型肝炎表面抗原測試
  • 肝功能指標(谷丙轉氨酵素)
  • 腎功能指標(肌酸酐)
PrEP全面檢查︱$2,500
  • 肝功能檢查

谷丙轉氨酵素
谷草轉氨酵素
鹼性磷酸酶
總膽紅素
總蛋白
白蛋白
球蛋白
白蛋白球蛋白比率
丙種谷氨酸轉肽酵素

  • 腎功能檢查

尿素  
肌酸酐
鉀、鈉
氯化物

  • HIV病毒p24抗原和抗體測試
  • 梅毒螺旋體(TP)抗體測試
  • 梅毒血清測試 RPR
  • 乙型肝炎表面抗原測試
  • 乙型肝炎表面抗體測試
  • 丙型肝炎抗體測試
  • 衣原體DNA測試
  • 淋球菌DNA測試

(Ref1: Kenneth H Mayer, Lancet 2020; 396: 239–54 )
(REF2: Fong, T. L., Lee, B. T., Tien, A., Chang, M., Lim, C., Ahn, A., & Bae, H. S. (2019). Improvement of bone mineral density and markers of proximal renal tubular function in chronic hepatitis B patients switched from tenofovir disoproxil fumarate to tenofovir alafenamide. Journal of viral hepatitis, 26(5), 561-567.)
(REF3: Massud, I., Ruone, S., Zlotorzynska, M., Haaland, R., Mills, P., Cong, M. E., ... & García-Lerma, J. G. (2020). Single oral dose for HIV pre or post-exposure prophylaxis: user desirability and biological efficacy in macaques. EBioMedicine, 58, 102894.)
(Ref4: MichaelW. Traeger et. Al. (2019) Association of HIV Preexposure Prophylaxis With Incidence of Sexually Transmitted Infections Among Individuals at High Risk of HIV Infection. JAMA April 9, 2019 Volume 321, Number 14. )
(Ref5: Raymond A. Tetteh et al (2017) Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis for HIV Prevention: Safety Concerns Drug Saf (2017) 40:273–283)

聯絡我們

地點

聯絡方式



營業時間